Then She Was Gone

Martiemary Rose
3 min readJan 9, 2023

Book Review. Warning there are spoilers.

Picture taken by Martiemary Rose

I finally got around to reading Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell. I seen so many reviews and recommendations saying how good the book is. To be honest I’m not one to read books that others recommend. I’m not sure why I’m like this. But I’ve been like this since I was a kid.

Anyway, at my job I learned that one of my co-workers loves reading as much as I do. So, when she showed me the book and let me read the synopsis, I was instantly hooked. I had to read this book. At the time my co-worker hadn’t started the book. It was the next book on her to be read list. So, she carried it with her for when she finished the other book she was reading. Which allowed me to form my own thoughts on whether I wanted to read this book and not because I was told to do so.

Fast forward to now that I am done reading this book. I loved this book. At first in the first couple of chapters I was unsure about it. Because the book started out saying what happened to Ellie. Which gave my suspensions on her tutor Noelle. But after getting passed Ellies disappearance, Laurel (Ellies mom) ran into a man. From there it was a budding romance. At this point I was almost half tempted to stop reading. Because I was confused whether this book was about Ellie disappearing. Or if it was about a mom moving on. Don’t get me wrong I don’t mind a happy ending…

--

--

Martiemary Rose

I enjoy reading, writing, drawing and being a pet mom. You will find poems, book reviews and anything in between on here.